Main Page


The National Cyber and Information Security Agency is the central state administration body for the protection of classified information (CI) in communication and information systems (CIS) and cryptographic protection. The role of the ICT Security Department is to provide this service.

The ICT Security Department consists of:

  • Crypto Development Section
  • CIS Accreditation Section
  • Crypto Certification Section
  • TEMPEST & TSCM Section
  • Crypto Service Section
  • Mathematical Analytical Group

The ICT Security Department’s responsibilities include:

  • Proactively contribute to the protection of classified information by providing security expertise and support to successfully achieve CIS security accreditation and through the certification of cryptographic devices;
  • Define concepts of CI protection in CIS, cryptographic protection, and preventing the compromise of classified information through unintentional electromagnetic emanations (TEMPEST);
  • Issues security standards in the area of CIS security, cryptographic protection, and TEMPEST;
  • Specify, assign, and direct research and development in the area of CIS security, including: assurance of CIS security implementation, the development and production of cryptographic devices, research in the area of applied and mathematical cryptography, and the development of any other devices that contribute to CI security.

The ICT Security Department performs the functions of:

  • Information Assurance Authority (IAA)
  • Security Accreditation Authority (SAA)
  • TEMPEST Authority (TA)
  • Crypto Approval Authority (CAA)
  • Crypto Distribution Authority (CDA)

All these functions are performed at the national level as well as in cooperation with the EU and NATO. The basic principles and minimum standards in the national environment are defined by Act No. 412/2005 Coll. on the Protection of Classified Information.